PDA

View Full Version : Stuff that happens to Dr. Killjoy

Dr. Killjoy
3rd February 2011, 01:36 AM
For a frame of reference, I'm a Sophomore in college, majoring in computer science and minoring in physics, hoping to someday work in either the video game or aeronautics industries.

Today wasn't great, but it wasn't too bad. Most of the food places around campus are close because of the recent blizzard, meaning the lines at the remaining places were so long I wasn't able to eat breakfast until after my morning lectures D= Trying to learn complicated stuff on an empty stomach is about as fun as it sounds.

Almost missed my afternoon lecture, but that was my own fault...who would have thought highly magnetized ball bearings (http://www.thenanodots.com/) could be so addictive? I barely got to the afternoon lecture in time, only to find out I shouldn't have bothered because the professor's descriptions and explanations confused the hell out of me, and I had to look in the textbook to clear things up. Isn't it supposed to be the other way around?

That evening, I did some programming for my Algorithms class. All this work I've done on the game I'm making (which I'll elaborate on later) has paid off - this stuff is practically becoming second nature to me. There's not a doubt in my mind now - I was born to do this stuff.

My quantum physics homework was giving me quite a bit of trouble, to the point I wasn't sure I would finish it on time. The good news is that I have not one but two suitemates (out of five) who are physics majors, and they were able to explain where I was screwing up. Honestly, when you get to quantum mechanics you reach things that seem less like something you can apply to the real world and more like something ripped straight from timecube.com. Thing is, though, I have to take this class to get my physics minor.