• Euthanasia, your opinion.
  • Euthanasia, your opinion.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25
  1. #1
    ProfileAchievementsGamer StatsInventoryLikes List
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Last Seen
    24th March 2012 06:41 PM
    Posts
    64
    Wong
    95

    Euthanasia, your opinion.

    I watched a movie recently called You Don't Know Jack, which was based on Jack Kevorkian who helped many people to commit suicide.

    As I always love hearing people's opinions on things, I thought I would bring this topic up here to see what people think about it.

    I personally feel that if someone has a terminal illness and all options have already been exhausted, that they should have the right to end their life on their own grounds whichever way they see fit.

  2. #2
    ProfileAchievementsGamer StatsInventoryLikes List
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Last Seen
    8th April 2019 08:48 PM
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Age
    28
    Posts
    1,664
    Personality
    hoticehilda
    Wong
    14,658

    RE: Euthanasia, your opinion.

    You know, reading the title, I thought this was about putting down pets.
    Which I agree with when the time is right.

    But actually reading that this in context of people, I realize that I'm against it.
    Tis best to die naturally in my eye.

    Hoorah, for contradictions!
    "Believe in yourself and create your own destiny. Don't fear fate." - Narrator
    avatar by: beautifulhangoverx


    Anime-Planet.com - anime | manga | reviews


    This was a good idea Mantis.

  3. #3
    ProfileAchievementsGamer StatsInventoryLikes List
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Last Seen
    24th March 2012 06:41 PM
    Posts
    64
    Wong
    95

    RE: Euthanasia, your opinion.

    I am curious about this.

    In your opinion, why is it best for a human to die naturally but you are ok when it comes to putting a pet down when it is the right time?

  4. #4
    ProfileAchievementsGamer StatsInventoryLikes List
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Last Seen
    8th April 2019 08:48 PM
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Age
    28
    Posts
    1,664
    Personality
    hoticehilda
    Wong
    14,658

    RE: Euthanasia, your opinion.

    I know right!
    Kinda hypocritical ain't it?

    There's so much more in a human life.
    I fear that an assisted death might end a person before their work is done, you know?
    Perhaps they still had something to offer the world.
    "Believe in yourself and create your own destiny. Don't fear fate." - Narrator
    avatar by: beautifulhangoverx


    Anime-Planet.com - anime | manga | reviews


    This was a good idea Mantis.

  5. #5
    ProfileAchievementsGamer StatsInventoryLikes List
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Last Seen
    22nd February 2013 03:00 AM
    Posts
    534
    Wong
    95

    RE: Euthanasia, your opinion.

    I am in favor of Euthanasia. When the pain gets too big to bear, it's the doctor's duty to... give what help he can. Not as an act of passion or of emotion, but simply one of duty.
    "The human eye is a wonderful device. With a little effort, it can fail to see even the most glaring injustice." - Quellcrist Falconer

  6. #6
    ProfileAchievementsGamer StatsInventoryLikes List
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Last Seen
    31st August 2020 12:16 PM
    Posts
    1,405
    Wong
    2,813

    RE: Euthanasia, your opinion.

    While it's a completely situation/individual-dependent decision, there are those cases when it really shouldn't be contested if requested, such as being a total vegetable*; a literal piece of meat that just... lives, with no ability to respond to any thing in any way whatsoever. At this point, the 'person' as you know them is already dead. All you've got is a shell with a saggy representation of their face on it. So yeah, screw that; pull the plug, flip the switch, whatever. Put them out of their misery, not that they're even present to a degree.

    Then of course, there is terminal illness. Once this reaches a certain stage and becomes simply unbearable, you may well be better off in a box. Better dead than living every miserable remaining moment in agonising pain.

    So yes; I am obviously in favour of euthanasia, provided that it's a valid (read as: last resort) option and the 'subject' desires it, or has literally nothing to live for. Other than that, the doc can take his needle and put it in his own personal space.

    Compulsory Euthanasia, on the other hand... that's a whole different kettle of fish, the very concept of which I find utterly deplorable.

    *Don't try and pull that 'Stephen Hawking' card; he's not at all a total vegetable!
    "It turned out that the ghost was just Mr. Finley, who ran the amusement park. The spooky part is that, as soon as the ghost appeared, the teenagers' dog began to speak! And it spoke in a tortured parody of human speech: 'relp me, Raggy,' it would say. 'I am an abomination and rould re rilled. Rill re, Raggy.'"

  7. #7
    ProfileAchievementsGamer StatsInventoryLikes List
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Last Seen
    4th February 2013 03:05 PM
    Age
    29
    Posts
    370
    Wong
    1,125

    RE: Euthanasia, your opinion.

    Pretty much agree with Baron. And while we're on the subject:

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WM8bTdBs-cw
    Quote Originally Posted by Nixie-the-Pixie
    I mainly do crack.

  8. Like Sparkysaurus liked this post
  9. #8
    ProfileAchievementsGamer StatsInventoryLikes List
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Last Seen
    31st August 2020 12:16 PM
    Posts
    1,405
    Wong
    2,813

    RE: Euthanasia, your opinion.

    I knew someone was going to post that. The moment I finished typing 'piece of meat', I thought to myself "someone's going to be posting Metallica soon enough!"
    "It turned out that the ghost was just Mr. Finley, who ran the amusement park. The spooky part is that, as soon as the ghost appeared, the teenagers' dog began to speak! And it spoke in a tortured parody of human speech: 'relp me, Raggy,' it would say. 'I am an abomination and rould re rilled. Rill re, Raggy.'"

  10. #9
    ProfileAchievementsGamer StatsInventoryLikes List
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Last Seen
    24th March 2012 06:41 PM
    Posts
    64
    Wong
    95

    RE: Euthanasia, your opinion.

    Quote Originally Posted by 'BaronOfStuff
    Compulsory Euthanasia, on the other hand... that's a whole different kettle of fish, the very concept of which I find utterly deplorable.
    As far as I am concerned, that is just another name for murder.

    Quote Originally Posted by 'AsherTheWilliams
    I know right!
    Kinda hypocritical ain't it?

    There's so much more in a human life.
    I fear that an assisted death might end a person before their work is done, you know?
    Perhaps they still had something to offer the world.
    I understand what you mean, but I wouldn't really say it is hypocritical since it is true that we cannot treat humans and animals the same in all cases. My previous question was not to say that you were being hypocritical, but I was just curious of your reasoning behind your answer.

    My belief though is just that I don't feel I should be the one who decides whether another human being lives or dies. I feel that a person should have that choice themselves, that they can choose how they wish to go. This is like Baron said, if the pain is too unbearable for someone.

  11. #10
    ProfileAchievementsGamer StatsInventoryLikes List
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Last Seen
    Today 03:32 PM
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Age
    31
    Posts
    6,955
    Personality
    genestarwind
    Wong
    10,030,384

    RE: Euthanasia, your opinion.

    I support euthanasia if there are valid medical grounds and thus a good reason for it. Be it a terrible accident, complications in surgery, or a number of other things—if someone's life has been traumatically changed, I feel they have the right to end it, even if it means going to a country such as Sweden where passive (allowing to die) euthanasia is allowed. I would only support active (deliberately killing) euthanasia if the person has, as said, become a vegetable.

    I remember once hearing about someone in the war who had pretty much become a vegetable. Unable to speak, hear, or see. I don't know if there's any truth to this, but all he could do was shake his hand to communicate in morse code: "kill me". Regardless of whether it's true or not, in this kind of case, I see no reason to allow that person to live in such pain for any longer. It's not murder. It's justice.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 16
    Last Post: 29th May 2018, 11:23 PM
  2. Sports Anime: What's Your Opinion?
    By pseudohippie in forum The Ctarl-Ctarl Empire
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11th April 2018, 07:41 AM
  3. What's everyone's opinion on Kanye West?
    By karate_kid in forum Music
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10th June 2017, 12:49 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Affiliates
Euthanasia, your opinion. Revillution.net - Your portal to entertainment! The Syndicate Lounge