• Could Humans Have Evolved From Aquatic Mammals? What's your opinion?
  • Could Humans Have Evolved From Aquatic Mammals? What's your opinion?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
  1. #1
    ProfileAchievementsGamer StatsInventoryLikes List
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Last Seen
    4th March 2014 02:38 AM
    Age
    24
    Posts
    368
    Wong
    597

    Could Humans Have Evolved From Aquatic Mammals? What's your opinion?

    www.youtube.com/watch?v=zHb6n8nICck

    So, what do you think? ^^''
    ''All our dreams can come true, if we have the courage to pursue them.''



  2. #2
    ProfileAchievementsGamer StatsInventoryLikes List
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Last Seen
    Today 05:33 AM
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Age
    31
    Posts
    6,360
    Personality
    genestarwind
    Wong
    10,021,025

    RE: Could Humans Have Evolved From Aquatic Mammals? What's your opinion?

    Of course, if humans a good few million years ago decided to venture into water, that would explain some of our features which are similar to aquatic mammals. However, the key information to consider here is "venturing into water". In other words, we were originally land mammals, so as a more literal answer, no, it's unlikely. Animal Planet expressed that most of their mermaid videos were based on science fiction rather than actual facts, so either way, I'd take it with a pinch of salt.
    Gene: "Have faith in me guys, enjoy the ride—you're in good hands. I can handle this. I can do it!"
    Jim: "How do you know?"
    Gene: "I don't!"
    Jim: "I knew it."
    Gene: "That's okay. There's a first time for everything!"

    Anime and Steam info

    Anime-Planet.com - anime | manga | reviews



  3. #3
    ProfileAchievementsGamer StatsInventoryLikes List
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Last Seen
    29th April 2018 05:13 PM
    Posts
    492
    Wong
    4,657

    RE: Could Humans Have Evolved From Aquatic Mammals? What's your opinion?

    You can't rule anything out really. Dolphin's are Mammals and they were once a land dwelling species a long time ago. So who is to say that human's aren't from aquatic beings? They never found the "missing link" which ties us all together to the primates so the idea can't be THAT far-off.
    "We All Make Choices. But In The End, Our Choices Make Us."
    -Andrew Ryan

  4. #4
    ProfileAchievementsGamer StatsInventoryLikes List
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Last Seen
    Today 05:33 AM
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Age
    31
    Posts
    6,360
    Personality
    genestarwind
    Wong
    10,021,025

    RE: Could Humans Have Evolved From Aquatic Mammals? What's your opinion?

    Well, I did say it was unlikely, not impossible, although I'll admit my post was a little ambiguous. I wouldn't exactly call myself a man of science, but I'd be more likely to believe in something when there is more scientific evidence available rather than just theories.
    Gene: "Have faith in me guys, enjoy the ride—you're in good hands. I can handle this. I can do it!"
    Jim: "How do you know?"
    Gene: "I don't!"
    Jim: "I knew it."
    Gene: "That's okay. There's a first time for everything!"

    Anime and Steam info

    Anime-Planet.com - anime | manga | reviews



  5. #5
    ProfileAchievementsGamer StatsInventoryLikes List
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Last Seen
    29th April 2018 05:13 PM
    Posts
    492
    Wong
    4,657

    RE: Could Humans Have Evolved From Aquatic Mammals? What's your opinion?

    I'm with ya there Mantis, the possibility of it actually being true is such a low number it would have to be close to the opposite end of infinity. COULD it be true? Absolutely, it could.....maybe... but is it true? I doubt it.
    "We All Make Choices. But In The End, Our Choices Make Us."
    -Andrew Ryan

  6. #6
    ProfileAchievementsGamer StatsInventoryLikes List
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Last Seen
    10th August 2016 01:42 AM
    Posts
    36
    Wong
    67

    RE: Could Humans Have Evolved From Aquatic Mammals? What's your opinion?

    Aquatic theory, I remember the time my professor went on an angry 10 minute rant about this. But I'm aiming to become an archaeologist not a physical anthropologist so I wasn't paying much attention. All I remember is he equated it to tales of Eldorado and Illuminati conspiracy theories.

  7. #7
    ProfileAchievementsGamer StatsInventoryLikes List
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Last Seen
    1st August 2012 07:31 AM
    Age
    26
    Posts
    137
    Wong
    567

    RE: Could Humans Have Evolved From Aquatic Mammals? What's your opinion?

    I think its possible. I say this because lets look at our body. We are 70% water,right off the bat.We share traits of both sides of the planet, and another point the video brings up. Babies instinctively know to hold their breath underwater. Our closest relatives, monkeys and apes, their babies would drown underwater.
    "You can never count on anyone but yourself, but then sometimes, you just want to feel the warmth of another body, you know?" -Hot Ice Hilda
    "Hey O'Connell! Looks like I got all the horses!"
    "Hey Beni! Looks like you're on the wrong side of the river!" Beni & Rick, The Mummy
    Will Draw for Food! Check out my DeviantArt account at My Account

  8. #8
    ProfileAchievementsGamer StatsInventoryLikes List
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Last Seen
    8th July 2015 11:42 PM
    Posts
    58
    Wong
    67
    I have studied Biology and Ecology for 2 years, and this topic came up time and time again. It kind of makes sense to me, seeing that we need Omega oils for a healthy life, and those are found only in fish and sea food. The theory of the aquatic ape is truly a fascinating one.

  9. #9
    ProfileAchievementsGamer StatsInventoryLikes List
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Last Seen
    19th June 2015 03:57 PM
    Posts
    41
    Wong
    277
    I definitely believe that it's possible. Evolution is real and it has been proven, there's no need to refute such a scenario could have taken place. Humanity is about to embark on another form of self-imposed evolution, this time through transhumanism. It's only a matter of time, perhaps a generation or two from now when humans will be fusing themselves with technology. Everyone here, that is a regular viewer of anime has seen this type of future shown in plenty of shows and how plausible it would be.

  10. #10
    ProfileAchievementsGamer StatsInventoryLikes List
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Last Seen
    14th May 2017 08:25 PM
    Posts
    54
    Wong
    247
    Well I remember hearing that the vertebrates evolved from the sea creatures, so I guess if you look at things that way then sure. If all life began in the ocean then technically we all evolved from the aquatic animals.

Similar Threads

  1. Sports Anime: What's Your Opinion?
    By pseudohippie in forum The Ctarl-Ctarl Empire
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11th April 2018, 08:41 AM
  2. Euthanasia, your opinion.
    By Cuhathol in forum Blue Heaven
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 18th June 2017, 01:16 PM
  3. What's everyone's opinion on Kanye West?
    By karate_kid in forum Music
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10th June 2017, 01:49 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •