• Do you read movie reviews (and reviews of TV shows)?
  • Do you read movie reviews (and reviews of TV shows)?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    ProfileAchievementsGamer StatsInventoryLikes List
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Last Seen
    7th December 2017 03:41 PM
    Posts
    191
    Wong
    3,566

    Do you read movie reviews (and reviews of TV shows)?

    Do you like to read reviews before deciding if you will spend your time to watch something?

    I couldn't care less what movie critics think. I think most of them are too pretentious. I do like to read what other viewers have to say, if they don't try to sound like a critic and don't give spoilers.

    I hate that. Don't spoil it for others! At least give a warning.

    Not that I always agree with them, but sometimes they do okay. I can usually decide if it's worth a try or not based on the majority of good or bad reviews. I can also learn details that might sway me such as "too much shakey camera" or maybe it's got tons of gore. I appreciate those tips, since it helps me avoid wasting my time on a show or movie that I won't like.

  2. #2
    ProfileAchievementsGamer StatsInventoryLikes List
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Last Seen
    Today 07:25 AM
    Posts
    784
    Personality
    jimhawking
    Wong
    12,279
    I stay away from a good chunk of movie bloggers since they are more interested in how a movie fits their moral compass rather than if it's objectively good. The only movie reviewers I turn to these days is Red Letter Media. They give the movie a fair shake and they have a lot of knowledge about filmmaking without being snobish about it. The only problem is that they do skits that tend to drag for too long.

  3. Like Gamesha liked this post
  4. #3
    ProfileAchievementsGamer StatsInventoryLikes List
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Last Seen
    5th August 2017 07:18 PM
    Posts
    184
    Wong
    1,316
    Well I stay away from reviews. One time I listened to reviews, I ended up watching a horrible movie. I remember watching a bunch of movies that so called critics told people that they weren't that good but I ended up enjoying the whole film. So now I just watch a movie without checking reviews. I just watch movies where the actor who plays the main character or the villain is someone I like watching. I would watch any movie as long as the movie has Kevin Spacey, Samuel L. Jackson, or Morgan Freeman in it.

  5. Like Gamesha liked this post
  6. #4
    ProfileAchievementsGamer StatsInventoryLikes List
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Last Seen
    7th December 2017 03:41 PM
    Posts
    191
    Wong
    3,566
    Quote Originally Posted by Starwind55 View Post
    I stay away from a good chunk of movie bloggers since they are more interested in how a movie fits their moral compass rather than if it's objectively good. The only movie reviewers I turn to these days is Red Letter Media. They give the movie a fair shake and they have a lot of knowledge about filmmaking without being snobish about it. The only problem is that they do skits that tend to drag for too long.
    Yeah, I don't follow any particular movie bloggers. I was just talking about reviews from other fans, like on Netflix and stuff. They leave comments, and usually a star rating or whatever. Some try to get all pompous and technical, but mostly I just care about whether or not a movie is fun to watch. I want to be entertained.

    Red Letter Media sounds interesting, especially since they don't get too snobbish about it. I might have to check that out next time I'm looking for a movie. Thanks for the tip.

  7. #5
    ProfileAchievementsGamer StatsInventoryLikes List
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Last Seen
    30th November 2017 05:31 PM
    Posts
    123
    Wong
    1,106
    I do check movie reviews first before deciding whether to watch the film or not. I don't go with movie critics because sometimes they have biased reviews. So for movie reference, I always check comments on movie trailers on YouTube since most comments there are from real people with real opinion towards the film.

  8. Agree Gamesha agreed with this post
  9. #6
    ProfileAchievementsGamer StatsInventoryLikes List
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Last Seen
    23rd June 2017 03:37 AM
    Posts
    26
    Wong
    386
    I used to read reviews and completely ignored a film that got bad reviews. Then, there was one day I looked up some critic reviews about ''The Ninja Assassin'' which is one of my favorite movies. I saw that they gave it a 37%. I was like okay, maybe it isn't that good but it isn't THAT bad although it still remained my favorite movie. I later found out that the Justin Bieber movie recieved a 64%. From that moment I said forget those moronic critics. They're horrible.

  10. Funny Gamesha found this post funny
  11. #7
    ProfileAchievementsGamer StatsInventoryLikes List
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Last Seen
    1st July 2017 06:54 PM
    Posts
    43
    Wong
    326
    I do actually. Sometimes because I am not sure that I understood everything in a movie/tv show, and sometimes to see if my theories are the same as the others or not. But mostly it's the second thing. It's always fun to see or hear the opinions of others.

  12. Like Gamesha liked this post
  13. #8
    ProfileAchievementsGamer StatsInventoryLikes List
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Last Seen
    2nd August 2017 02:56 AM
    Posts
    45
    Wong
    131
    Nо I dоn't....
    I dоn't еvеn wаtсh thе trаilеrs ....
    Wе аrе suppоsеd tо wаtсh а mоviе withоut еvеn а сluе оf its synоpsis, sсеnеs, diаlоguеs...
    Hаving sееn thе trаilеr, rеаding thе rеviеws ruins thе еxpеriеnсе оf wаtсhing thе mоviе...
    In thе fоrmеr саsе thе mоviе is аlwаys еngаging irrеspесtivе оf lооsе plоt but whеthеr in thе lаttеr yоu аlrеаdy knоw сеrtаin upсоming things whiсh саn аbsоlutеly fit in yоur guеss fоr thе mоviе's furthеr plоt аnd finаlly yоur intеrеst tо wаtсh аny furthеr gеts саrriеd аwаy.. .

  14. #9
    ProfileAchievementsGamer StatsInventoryLikes List
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Last Seen
    31st July 2019 04:00 AM
    Age
    35
    Posts
    412
    Personality
    ronaldmacdougall
    Wong
    1,042
    I do, but I don't go to too many movies anyway. I do a quick check and summery read on Rotten Tomatoes, but I trust the audience score more than the critics. I imagine all critics as Jay Sherman.


    We are all insane, we just act normal for the sake of others.

  15. #10
    ProfileAchievementsGamer StatsInventoryLikes List
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Last Seen
    2nd August 2019 05:06 PM
    Location
    France
    Age
    21
    Posts
    278
    Personality
    harrymacdougall
    Wong
    1,293
    There is pretty much only three people i read/listen to when it comes to reviews, they are French but if you manage to catch what they say i'm you would enjoy it :

    -First is <<Le fossoyeur de films>> (the movies gravedigger in English) who's a specialist (has graduated from a cinema school) on YT and may have some subbed videos.
    -The second is <<L'odieux connard>> (odious shithead in English) who does a lot of reviews on his blog using a lot of dar humor.
    -The third is the <<Nexus VI>> show on YT as well (so possible subtitles).
    Sry i don't have English-speaking references for cinema.
    Never overestimate mankind.

Similar Threads

  1. You read books?
    By Stewpot in forum Clyde's Bar
    Replies: 50
    Last Post: 28th May 2018, 06:04 PM
  2. Read vs. Unread
    By Juneberry in forum Suggestions, Comments and Complaints
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 19th August 2016, 09:12 PM
  3. Reviews - Read First
    By Mantis in forum Film and TV
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 26th September 2011, 01:05 AM
  4. Reviews - Read First
    By Mantis in forum The Ctarl-Ctarl Empire
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 26th September 2011, 01:05 AM
  5. Childhood TV Shows
    By Mantis in forum Film and TV (Archive)
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 12th September 2011, 04:23 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •