Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    ProfileAchievementsGamer StatsInventoryLikes List
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Last Seen
    Yesterday 10:01 PM
    Posts
    1,896
    Wong
    44,601

    Issue with ratings and login?

    I thought I would post this here. I seem to be having an issue with user ratings. I will click on the rating for the post and it will take a long time to register it. I am talking 10+ seconds. Also, when I am logged in on the forum, on the home page it is showing in the corner as if I am logged out but it is perfectly fine after I go into a thread. Not a big deal as it still works just fine but the rating thing is a little annoying. I just thought I would mention it here. Not sure if it is me or the forum. I am using Chrome.

  2. #2
    ProfileAchievementsGamer StatsInventoryLikes List
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Last Seen
    Today 05:46 AM
    Location
    Pennsylvania, USA
    Age
    27
    Posts
    1,768
    Personality
    lordhazanko
    Wong
    18,984
    Same thing is happening to me! I brought it up to Mantis a few weeks ago but he wasn't able to replicate it. It's happening to me across different browsers (the login thing, not the post ratings). After I login, I sit on the homepage and spam refresh 5 - 10 times and eventually it shows me as being logged in and then it sticks.
    "Out of the ground, raze all greenery with flame! Fire2!"
    Quote Originally Posted by Starwind55 View Post
    It deals with a demon virus that transforms people into freaky looking fuckers

  3. Like KorinKitty liked this post
  4. #3
    ProfileAchievementsGamer StatsInventoryLikes List
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Last Seen
    Today 12:42 AM
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Age
    31
    Posts
    6,837
    Personality
    genestarwind
    Wong
    10,028,714
    Ah yeah, I saw this post yesterday and I'm not sure what you meant by ratings. Did you mean the likes/dislikes/so forth? There is a small lag with that but it's only 2-3 seconds in my experience. The site is on a server hosted in California so it should actually be faster for you guys. I do remember something that Zemekis said about logging in. Turned out that it magically just worked right afterwards so I wasn't able to reproduce the problem.

    This kind of issue usually comes down to cookies which can be cleared for individual sites, but maybe there is actually something wrong with the site itself. I just don't know what. I've always been able to log in fine so I didn't find a reason to look into it myself, which is why these threads are very, very useful. (Thanks!)

    I just tried with incognito and I am seeing the same problem. I will take this to the powers that be.

  5. Like KorinKitty liked this post
  6. #4
    ProfileAchievementsGamer StatsInventoryLikes List
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Last Seen
    Yesterday 10:01 PM
    Posts
    1,896
    Wong
    44,601
    Yeah, the ratings for posts. And the same with me! It is happening on other sites and forums as well so maybe it is an issue with software and Chrome right now? I even disabled all my extensions and it still does it to me.

  7. #5
    ProfileAchievementsGamer StatsInventoryLikes List
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Last Seen
    Today 05:46 AM
    Location
    Pennsylvania, USA
    Age
    27
    Posts
    1,768
    Personality
    lordhazanko
    Wong
    18,984
    I've fiddled with my cookie settings and tries on several browsers, it's the same across all of them for me.
    "Out of the ground, raze all greenery with flame! Fire2!"
    Quote Originally Posted by Starwind55 View Post
    It deals with a demon virus that transforms people into freaky looking fuckers

  8. Like KorinKitty liked this post
  9. #6
    ProfileAchievementsGamer StatsInventoryLikes List
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Last Seen
    Yesterday 10:01 PM
    Posts
    1,896
    Wong
    44,601
    It seems to be fine right now and I haven't changed anything myself. Even the post ratings happen way faster. Was anything done on the forum or is this just a massive coincidence right now? It appears to be fixed. I even show logged in on the home page again.

  10. #7
    ProfileAchievementsGamer StatsInventoryLikes List
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Last Seen
    Today 05:46 AM
    Location
    Pennsylvania, USA
    Age
    27
    Posts
    1,768
    Personality
    lordhazanko
    Wong
    18,984
    Login issue is still occurring for me as of 5 minutes ago.
    "Out of the ground, raze all greenery with flame! Fire2!"
    Quote Originally Posted by Starwind55 View Post
    It deals with a demon virus that transforms people into freaky looking fuckers

  11. #8
    ProfileAchievementsGamer StatsInventoryLikes List
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Last Seen
    Today 12:42 AM
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Age
    31
    Posts
    6,837
    Personality
    genestarwind
    Wong
    10,028,714
    It's suspected it's being caused by caching, maybe a plugin. I'm looking into it more thoroughly today.

    Edit: I think I'm going to call in an expert as I don't have the time right now to spend hours (or maybe the better part of a day) peeking and poking.

  12. #9
    ProfileAchievementsGamer StatsInventoryLikes List
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Last Seen
    Today 12:42 AM
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Age
    31
    Posts
    6,837
    Personality
    genestarwind
    Wong
    10,028,714
    This issue has almost certainly been resolved. It wasn't so straightforward to fix but that's been done now. However, I've only tested this myself. It would help if the two (or anybody else who has been having these problems for that matter) of you could try to reproduce your previous steps and let me know the result. Thanks.

  13. #10
    ProfileAchievementsGamer StatsInventoryLikes List
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Last Seen
    Today 05:46 AM
    Location
    Pennsylvania, USA
    Age
    27
    Posts
    1,768
    Personality
    lordhazanko
    Wong
    18,984
    It's fixed for me now. Thanks!
    "Out of the ground, raze all greenery with flame! Fire2!"
    Quote Originally Posted by Starwind55 View Post
    It deals with a demon virus that transforms people into freaky looking fuckers

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Affiliates
Issue with ratings and login? Revillution.net - Your portal to entertainment! The Syndicate Lounge